Back to news

Direct Vision Scheme

Posted on 31/10/2019 Array
Transport for London (TFL) have released its HGV safety permit guidance in reference to phase one of the new legislation. This comes into effect from October 2020 for all vehicles over 12 tonnes. Operators must start applying for permits in October 2019. 

What is DVS?

HGVs will be categorised depending on the level of a driver's direct vision from a cab and will then be given a rating between 'zero-star' (lowest) and 'five-star' (highest). The minimum requirement for HGVs increases from 'one-star' to 'three-star' in 2024, TFL has committed to consulting on the progressive Safe System requirements in 2022.

Why have they Implemented?

DVS (Direct Vision Scheme) was created to improve the safety of all road users, particularly vulnerable road users such as pedestrians, cyclists and motorcyclists. Between 2015 and 2017, HGVs were disproportionately involved in fatal collisions with people cycling (63%) and walking (25%) on London's streets.